Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First dive into character creation.

Hey everyone!

This is the first time posting anything ive created, generally im still learning through what I create as im trying to get a head start on learning 3ds max and the features and functions on game asset creation mainly characters and props before i get into uni.

Im hoping to improve through feedback and hopefully pick up a few tips and tricks as i already have just browsing this forum and seeing other peoples work which inspires me.

This is my first piece, the reference pic is from wow as their characters seemed fairly simply made, i could easily distinguish parts of the body, i didnt attempt to create a spot on match, just more of a guideline then later on add my own to it.

It was a test to see my ability when thrown into creating a character, point out my mistakes, see what looks wrong and what can be improved, as id like others to point out.

tris - 2274
verts - 1150
polys - 1142

test1.jpg

Testing.jpg

test2.jpg

tester.jpg

At the moment ive noticed some light smoothing issues around the groin and below the breasts. Any crits are welcome :D

Im all new to this, so any sort of tips on presentation or general stuff is also welcome.

Replies

• ShadowFox
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Untitled-1.jpg

Untitled-2.jpg

Forgot the references.
  • Firecracker197
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Firecracker197 polycounter lvl 11
    I think for the first time creating a character you are skipping a step, anyone here that is a character artist will tell you to study human anatomy first, once you get an atomically correct model that is well made you can then begin to shape that into whatever you want, but if you don't have the basics down first anything you make no matter how simple is not going to look right. I would find real photo reference of a girl and start with that, also study up on your edge loops and topology.
  • vcortis
    Options