Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First Post & Scholar's Garden

Hi Polycounters, I'm new!

I'm a game art student getting ready to graduate and I'd like to get some critiques on my senior project to take it to the next level. The concept is a traditional Scholar's Garden. Rendered in UDK.

UPDATE: new render with critiques applied. any comments on this or the prop sheets below would be appreciated!

sunset_final.jpg

Replies

• Ott
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ott polycounter lvl 13
    Lookin pretty dope! Got any renders of the individual props?

Everything looks really good, but I would like to see some sort of more dynamic / interesting lighting going on. Maybe some of those red-ball-hanging-light-things have a light on in them, or a light source coming from the top of the tower-structure in the upper left. Or from inside that room on the left. Something to make me wonder "what's going on in/over there?"

I would personally scale that tree in the back up by about 25% or so just to make it stand out a tad more. The ground grass texture doesn't really seem to hold up resolution-wise IMO.

Good looking stuff. Good to hear about AISD students using UDK :)
  • andybozo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    andybozo polycounter lvl 7
    looks great! might you post a wireframe? maybe a different angle as well?
  • Shogun3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shogun3d polycounter lvl 12
    Ott wrote: »
    Good looking stuff. Good to hear about AISD students using UDK :)

A ton of us at AISD troll polycount like mad. We tried getting UDK on the computers at school but that's not happenin' anytime soon due to license costs etc.

Anyhow, hey George glad you posted up your work. The water looks dope!! I'm with OTT on the lit lanterns hanging to the right. That would be interesting, and would create some cool lighting with UDK's new emissive lighting.
  • System
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    System admin