Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Treasure Chest - First hack at hand painted textures

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Shogun3d polycounter lvl 12
Hey guys,

A lot of the hand painted pieces such as Erics and CerisierEnFleur has inspired me to get my feet wet and practice some hand painted metal and wood. I've never done it before (always been working on realism) so figured it would be great to take a stab. Here's my results .. feedback is appreciated. Thanks everyone :)

Viewport Shader - Xoliul
treasure_chest_1_900.jpg

treasure_chest_2_900.jpg

treasure_chest_textures.jpg

Replies

• vcortis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    vcortis polycounter lvl 9
    Nicely done, I myself haven't really done too many hand painted but it's always been a very appealing style to me, and I may have to try it myself soon.
  • JasonLavoie
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JasonLavoie polycounter lvl 18
    I think if aanyyyything (it does look really nice by the way) maybe get a bit more colour variation in there, I'm seeing some nice purples in the shader, also... maybe tighten up the lines a bit (for each plank) cause right now it looks too muddy.
  • dv8ix
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Very cartoon like. good work
  • Shogun3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    colour variation, tighten up the lines a bit (for each plank) cause right now it looks too muddy.

Agreed, thanks Jason
  • achillesian
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    im confused, it looks like the chest is made to ingame specifications and the chain is not...
  • Shogun3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I would typicaly bake the chains down to alpha's but for the sake of time and practice I didn't. It's not being used in game anyhow.
  • DnS
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DnS
    Nicely painted.

One crit: The knot in the wood on the front of the chest looks strange to me. Maybe it needs a little more love in the diffuse.
  • Shogun3d