Home General Discussion

Should I upgrade to Windows 7. Main use is 3D art.

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Hayden Zammit polycounter lvl 12
Just wondering how people are finding Windows 7. I use XP at the moment and am thinking of upgrading. I'm a 3D artist and use the PC mainly for Photoshop and 3D programs like Maya. I also use the Unreal Editor on it. If it doesn't run Maya as well as XP does then I won't go to windows 7. I also use it for watching videos and stuff as well.

cheers.

Replies

• oXYnary
    Offline / Send Message
    oXYnary polycounter lvl 18
    If its an older machine, dont bother. If its like a dual core, go for it IF you plan to take advantage of 64bit programs. In that case though you will need more memory (4 gig min recommend).
  • Hayden Zammit
    Offline / Send Message
    Here are my specs:

Intel(R) core(TM) 2 QUad CPU
    Q6600 @2.40GHz
    2.40 GHz, 3.00 GB of RAM

got a Quadro FX 1700 graphics card.

It says 3 gigs but its really 4. I think the Quadro uses up a gig itself. Is that a good system? I could get more and more ram with the new OS right?
  • ZacD
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    Here are my specs:

Q6600 @2.40GHz
    2.40 GHz, 3.00 GB of RAM

It says 3 gigs but its really 4. I think the Quadro uses up a gig itself. Is that a good system? I could get more and more ram with the new OS right?

Pretty decent rig, the graphics card isn't too great, I wouldn't buy a quadro next time, if your making stuff for gamer cards, why wouldn't you use one yourself? You'll see a greater performance difference with more ram and if you use 64bit apps.
  • danshewan
    Offline / Send Message
    danshewan polycounter lvl 8