Home Technical Talk

Crysis vegetation and speedtree

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
NAIMA polycounter lvl 14
Hello , since I am not an expert I was wondering something to ask you experts in the game development sector .....
I have awed at the crysis vegetation density in the game levels , I love actually them and I couldnt avoid to compare them for example to the middleware used in many other games like speedtree , for example in oblivion and others, tough I am wondering , how is possible that crysis game engine doesnt use speedtree? I see much of the trees are actually just 3d polygonal models , all built up , while speedtree if not wrong instead is more random fractal generated trees then placed ingame , but not sure so I wanted to ask ....
what are the main differences between speedtree and vegetation in games using speedtree and the crysis vegetation system ? How do they do to have such good performances?what are their main common points and dverging points ? whats the strong points of one and the weack ones?

Thanks for any answer :) ....

Replies

• Ark
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ark polycounter lvl 11
    I've never really used sppedtree. In crysis i believe there just normal models that get scaled and rotated randomly as you paint them into your scene. This combined with a few different models is all you really need to avoid repetition.
  • Tumerboy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tumerboy polycounter lvl 17
    Crysis did not use Speedtree. I have, and it was a horrible experience. I found it taking longer, and looking worse than just modeling what I wanted.
  • SnowGhost
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SnowGhost polycounter lvl 11