Home General Discussion

Uni or Job?

polycounter lvl 10

Replies

• psychoticprankster
    Edit: Go with skulburns advice.
  • psychoticprankster
    Skulburn wrote: »
    I missed Uni, after college. It didn't appeal to me. I've been told everywhere that a degree in 3d isn't worth as much as a solid self-taught portfolio. I'm currently working on my own projects while also working on a portfolio for myself, then going to get some work experience weeks in the bag around the country. After that, i'll review what i've learnt, improve my skills and apply for a job. If your not ready to leave the education system, then go to Uni, if you dont want to be stuck in it any longer, i'd do the same as me.
    Thats true , good advice.
  • aesir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    aesir polycounter lvl 18
    Do whatever you want.

I got offered a job while I was still in college. I declined so I could finish my degree. Job wasn't waiting for me when I finished :)
  • Frump
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Frump polycounter lvl 12
    Try to get a job after college. If you can't, you might as well work up some more debt.
  • killingpeople
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    killingpeople polycounter lvl 18
    Start making money or go into debt.
  • 2cool4school
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    If you want to work abroad in the future then I believe a university degree is needed, also if you look at alot of vacancy posts they do require a degree. I think University is a good investment (although I think it's cheaper here in the UK than the US), and it can be helpful to get it out the way, while you're young.

But seeing as you are doubtful I would take a year out and apply for jobs and work on your portfolio like mad. A year out can be very helpful to gain some perspective. If you haven't gotten anywhere by the end of the year consider University.