Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] - Hanan Fogel, 3D Artist

Hi guys,

My name is Hanan. I'm a fairly new 3D artist and I've found the gaming industry very appealing, so I'm currently focusing my talents on low poly modeling (hard surface only at the moment).

I've got a new demo reel which I'd like to share with you guys:
https://vimeo.com/channels/hananfogel

Would appreciate any kind of feedback on the models and textures and everything you might think that needs my attention.

Thanks a lot,
Hanan

Replies

• PyrZern
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PyrZern polycounter lvl 12
    1. Hey, if you are going to show still images, don't use video form. Use images. Video presentation should only be used for 2-3 reasons; something rotating, or something with time-lapse, or something with sound.

2. So, you might want to create a website instead. Could be Blog, or Word Press, or anything HTML.

3. If you want to focus on low-poly modeling, you need to cut down a lot lot more polys. Helmet should be no more than 300poly. Uzi maybe like a 1000 poly, and Grenade maybe 300poly as well. You need to make use of Normal Map instead of modeling every small details.

Hope that helps.
  • IchII3D
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    IchII3D polycounter lvl 12
    Not a bad start, you seem to have the basic principles laid down and ready to move forward. Its nice to see your early work going through the whole process of modelling, baking and texturing etc...

Moving forward you could keep working on improving your skills and learning from mistakes. I recommend making something a little bolder, giant digger, large industrial machine, mad max truck etc... it will allow you to work more on your hard surface skills while learning the ways of tackling something a little more complex.

If your looking to go down the environment path I recommend making a building from reference, see how well you fair making something to scale and with structural integrity.