Home Unity

Unity Particle Effects HELP?!

Me and a couple lads were working on our capstone project using UDK (thesis game), and I was in charge of VFX, and UI. We had 11 weeks to put a 'vertical slice' of our game together. Well, it's week 11 now, and things were okay, but then a fatal blocker emerged in the 'character camp', and we had to switch to Unity.
So now I find myself in need to create a number of fx and set up the menus in ONE WEEK starting today. I am not completely new to unity, but I am new to not being able to utilize udk's robust material editor to do most of the work in my effects!

So with that background in mind, I could use a copious amount of tips/tricks on projectile effects (plasma blasts etc.), atmospheric effects, and the creation of the textures/materials used for those types of things.

Replies

• Farfarer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Switching project engine in the last week? Christ.

http://unity3d.com/support/documentation/Manual/Particle%20Systems.html
    http://unity3d.com/support/documentation/Manual/Particle%20System%20Grouping.html

You can also download Strumpys material editor if you want a node-based editor to make your materials with. Not sure how well it works with particle materials.

Note you cannot apply lights or normal map particles, its diffuse only.
  • MRDGameart
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for replying!
    And yea, switching engines last week... however if we didn't we wouldn't have a finished/playable product anyways. I am the only one who really got shafted by it since all the models and characters and stuff can be applied to unity easily, and our programmer lives in unity so he was happier than anyone. I also put together a scaleform menu for the game which can no longer (to my knowledge) be used in unity.