Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

A violin for her...

Un_dead
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Un_dead polycounter lvl 11
Hey guys, I've been on this forum for a while, and I finally decided to post some work of mine.

There is a little story around this piece (still a WiP). During a conversation with my girlfriend, she reminded me that she used to play violin when she lived in the US. When she moved here she had to stop, but she told me she really wanted to start again. This crazy idea began to form in my mind...

I'm still a student, so my finances aren't the best in the world, so buying her a violin was out of the question. I was doing some modeling at the time and then it hit me. Create a model of a violin, make a scene for it, render it, fix it up in Photoshop, print it and frame it, and give it to her for her birthday. The deadline for the final render is 10th of July, which gives me a couple of weeks to get it printed and framed. Here's what I have so far:

violin_02_edit.png

violin_03.png

Tell me what you think, critiques and suggestions, and any advice you have with the technical side of things (modeling, rendering methods, lighting etc.) would be greatly appreciated...

Thanks Guys!

Replies

• Callesw
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    That's a sweet id
  • Olli.
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Olli. polycounter lvl 8
    looks more like a cello to me.. what do i know though :P

on a side note, you could get your model 3d printed, so you can actually give her the violin :D
  • SA_22
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    someone is going to get layyyyyyyed lol
    looks gd so far!
  • Oleg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Oleg polycounter lvl 14
    Nice goal lol ,it looks good so far ! Good Luck with the project.
  • Un_dead
    Options
    Offline / Send Message