Home Technical Talk

Hardware Question for a New Modeller

Hey folks, I was looking for opinions on a hardware purchase, and hopefully you can give some helpful insight based on personal experiences.

I'm a relatively new modeler/texturer. I use Blender and PS5 currently, and have no intention of changing the program I'm using, as I'm a very casual hobbyist, almost exclusively doing stuff for TF2. I'm looking to purchase a tablet, mostly for texturing purposes. However, I'd like to make my entire model/texture process mobile. There are several programs needed to compile these models into TF2, which AFAIK are Windows-exclusive.

Does anyone have any suggestions on a good setup that would allow use of PS with Blender, with both tablet and Mouse functionality? Will I be stuck purchasing a laptop and separate tablet, and just transferring files between the systems as I progress through a project?

Thanks for the help.

Replies

• Futzy
    Decent windows tablets at a reasonable price are still about a year away.
  • SgtR007
    Thanks for the quick reply. I'm due for a new gaming machine as well, so maybe I'll just hold out until the tablet market catches up to what I want.
  • DEElekgolo
    Offline / Send Message
    DEElekgolo interpolator
    Sounds good. The market for tablet-like interfaces are getting more and more colorful anyways so they are bound to get cheaper.
  • Snader
    Offline / Send Message
    Snader polycounter lvl 15
    Personally, modeling is far too hotkey-intensive to be done on just a tablet. I much prefer working on a PC with keyboard and mouse than on my tablet-laptop:
    1913.jpg
    Plus, a desktop is much more powerful than a laptop and a laptop more than a tablet. (this doesn't matter a whole lot for me cuz I lurvz lowpoly, but it might apply to you)
  • passerby
    Offline / Send Message
    passerby polycounter lvl 12
    i coudlnt really see myself using a tablet over my wacom and desktop computer.