Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WIP - Armored Brachiosaurus

DGB
polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
DGB polycounter lvl 7
Yeah, so I was on google the other day and found a few illustrations from "Dinotopia: The World Beneath" and decided to do a little modeling. I'm trying to stay true to the source material, although I have had to make slight changes here and there. I likely won't start detailing the main creature until after I finish with everything else that can be easily moved around. Also, I went a little crazy with the armor scrollwork the first time around so I'll need to simplify that at some point.
This is my first time doing a creature of this size, so feel free to hit me with any sort of advice you've got.

Much obliged.

http://www.delart.org/exhibitions/dinotopia.html
Link to original illustration by James Gurney.

Concept drawing based on illustration and Zbrush progress shot.brachio_1.jpgsketch_1.jpg

Replies

• johnicus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MAN! I don't know why I haven't thought of doing something like this!

Dinotopia was probably what got me into doing all this stuff, and it's a really great idea. If there are other people on this forum who loved Dinotopia as much as I, you might have started a "Dinotopia Sculpting Love" thread, because now I wanna do it too. :P

That detail work is looking really awesome and I can't wait to see it finished! Are you planning to paint it, too? The colors in those books were so rich and vibrant.
  • johnicus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    So while I was having a fanboy moment and showing this to my girlfriend, she pointed out that the tail seems a little short...
  • specsowl
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    specsowl polycounter lvl 6
    Not only is it short, its also a bit fat. Even a brachiosaurus would have a substantially sized tail, though not as long as an Apatosaurus or Brontasaurus.