Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Brushys Blog

I've been a long term lurker at polycount and I've finally begun to do a mass portfolio overhaul to push myself into the Games Industry. I'm using this thread as a way of documenting my progress and revealing some of my workflow in the hope that I inspire someone, like you all have inspired me :)

My History:
I've worked with CryEngine since the PreSDK days of CE2 (2007). I've been a member of INK for 2 years on/off and i'm currently helping the guys at Traction Wars out with a few assets for a WW2 Portfolio piece i'm working on. I've been modding since 2002 starting off on Counterstrike before moving over to Neverwinter Nights, Battlefield 2 and then to CryEngine. I've always used 3dsmax and for the past two years i've been using Mudbox for HP meshes.

My Plans:
I'll be creating small diorama pieces for my portfolio, showcasing my assets. Its my intention to create a WW2 diorama and a modern day street in Rome. While creating the above dioramas i'll be producing small blogs that explain my workflow with renders/screenshots. I welcome criticism and if at any point you'd like me to expand my explanations then feel free to ask.

Blog List:

Here is a list of my blog entries:

Replies

• Brushy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Blog Entry #1 - Grass Objects

For the past two weeks i've been working on vegetation. A slow process considering i'm overhauling everything! But I thought i'd start on the obvious and make some new grass.

grass_highpoly_blades_001.jpg

Step 1: The workflow for making my grass is a little time consuming initially. You start off by making a simple grass blade (I made 3 height variations). You then draw some splines to create different blade shapes and then applying a pathdeform you can make realistic looking highpoly grass blades pretty fast. The end result being top left in the above image.