Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Troll Character

Hey guys, I'm pretty new here, so this is gonna be my first post.

Here is a character I've been working on over the past few days. Honestly I'm not too familiar with the "proper" practices one might use when making a hi-res character in zbrush, so what you see is just me kind of whinging it.

Generally, I'm fairly new to 3D, so I find myself trying to get around the "rules" and just trying to start creating something as fast as possible.

Please feel free to point out anything I may be doing wrong, or anything I could improve upon.

I guess I should say I plan on giving him some shoes and pants, and eventually some long hair. Ultimately He would also be a low poly model, so any advice there would be awesome.

Right now this is about subdivision 5 so i have a couple more levels of detail to throw on.

263bu6p.jpg

2mevceh.jpg

Replies

• Illusive
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Illusive polycounter lvl 8
    the horns need twist and curve much more, at the moment they look like a weird hair style
  • Donavonyoung
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Donavonyoung polycounter lvl 6
    You are going too high too fast. Work on lower subd to get the form and shape right. otherwise it will just end up lumpy.
  • Polygoblin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Polygoblin polycounter
    What Donovan said. I know you want to get to the detail part, but only subdivide when you need to. Trust me, it will help.

Also, it helps for someone new to 3D to try and do some more human characters to really study anatomy. I know it's boring, but will greatly improve every character you do afterwards. A solid anatomy foundation is crucial in every creature, even non-humans.
  • BendE
    Options
    Offline / Send Message