Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Space Battleship by LordDoomhammer

Hey folks!

I start first with a huge apology: I know this forum is ment for games. I must admit, what I preview for the moment is not for games! But I have watched this forums for some time now and the people here seem to be more helpful than elsewhere - where I either get ignored, or the people are criticising on a too high level (I am an amateur, you know^^)

Well. If you don`t mind, I get this over with. Elsewise I`ll delete it at request :)

I am currently designing, and building a Space Battleship in Google SketchUp. Yes I know SU is suboptimal, but I never had the time to teach myself blender - maybe this summer. The main issue is with texturing, which is pretty bad in SU. I do my rendering in Kerkythea, which isn`t much better in it either - at least in terms of positioning.

About the design: Well, the ships were actually inspired by WWI+II vessels, but as I decided to design this one technically on a modern destroyer, I used elements of that as well. The Ship is to be around 300-350 meters in length. I don´t go too far into realism in terms of texturing, it shall look rather polished and not too harshly surfaced. Here the (actually quite kitbashed) cruiser, with the bridge:
computerdisbplay43.jpg
bridge5.jpg
galitariaview1.th.jpg
and here some scenes of the, what once were freighters, but from the same manufacturer
rebelwars9.jpg

So much for the reference. Here now comes the current status
ilonaconcept1.jpg
ilonaconcept2.jpg
ilonaconcept3.jpg
ilonaconcept4.jpg
ilonaconcept5.jpg
and here the ground texture for the hangarbay:
hangarbasefintest.jpg