Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] Thomas Forkin - Environment Artist

Hello Polycount,

My Name is Tom and I am an aspiring environment artist who has just completed a three year degree in Game Art. I have assembled an online portfolio and would really appreciate some critique. You can view it here.

This project brief was to design a rooftop scene. Here I simply became inspired by a photo of Paris by night.

paris_1.jpg
This was my final major project, completed recently and focuses on Art Nouveau architecture. Replicating people such as Antoni Gaudi and Victor Horta.

p1.jpg
p2.jpg
A simple vehicle prop to inhabit an environment.

3.jpg

A desk prop designed by Antoni Gaudi.
p3.jpg

Replies

• TMForkin
  • Wonkey
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Wonkey polycounter lvl 10
    Welcome to PC, TMForkin. Found this on page 3, thought I would bump it. Wish you had breakdowns of your scenes-Wireframes, Tri counts, texture sizes, that sort of thing. Also, makes sure you put your name on your images.
  • Anthy9986
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Anthy9986 polycounter lvl 7
    I second the wireframes, tri count, and texture sizes/sheets comment. Also you have no resume on your website.
  • trsnell
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Great work, and excellent choice of material! Really cool to see someone doing this stuff. Agreed with the above two, though.

The fire on the fly through could use work. Right now it's bit distracting. The particles aren't convincing at all, try making them smaller and using more particles, and maybe try using two systems: one for the inner and higher flames, one for the larger lower flames. Not my specialty, but that's what I would do at least.
    Some dynamic lighting from the fire would help, too. Try animating the lights. Even if you just made the intensity flicker, I think it would add a lot.
  • TMForkin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you Wonkey,