Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Liam's super shed! :D

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
menjah polycounter lvl 6
Hey all you lovely people at polycount :D
I just started learning modeling this year and this is supposed to be part of a demo reel project. For this scene, I'm going for a fairly small area with a house, a bit of land to run around on, and a shed full of old tools. I'm really enjoying learning materials and tinkering with UDK, but I'm having a bit of trouble lately with direction and general things-not-looking-right syndrome. Also workflow, like how much should I be completing in any given day, and how to organize everything between UDK and Maya. I'm assuming my inexperience is causing many of these problems, and maybe you guys can help me out! Any tips, crits, and suggestions are more than welcome.

Here's my reference for the shed:
7113888143_ab26ee8a55_b.jpg

And here's some shots of my work so far:

01.jpg

02.jpg

03.jpg

Replies

• David Wakelin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    So far the assets look nice.

Only thing I would reccomend is to improve the handle of the lanterns geometry - it looks too rigid, even a metal strap wouldnt be so straight, they tend to be more arch like.

The hammer that is full textured (nearby the lamp ) seems to have something wrong with the iddle of the metal mesh, like its been crushed of some kind or disorted.

The texture of the hammer could be perhaps more dirty? it looks too clean; the rest of the assets are lovely - I'm actually jealous how they resemble their material well with dirty grime and rust on.

- What is your texturing workflow/stepbystep? If you dont mind please ;) As I'm learning too!!
  • menjah
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    menjah polycounter lvl 6
    @David: