Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

(Student) First Big Mech Build

Hey everyone I've been using polycount for a long time now just too look at cool artwork and such. I made an account on the advice of my teacher saying I can start posting my work to get feedback and ideas and be involved.

I am a computer graphics major with a focus on 3D and I'm fairly new to ACTUALLY trying to model and 3D in general. This mech is my first real personal BIG (at least for me) project.

Any feedback, advice, ideas for weapons, etc would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Jimmylol2.jpg

Jimmylol.jpg

Test.jpg

derp1.jpg

derp2.jpg

Replies

• Apaulsen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I do know I have to go back and make the lower leg high poly, a long with the top.

It's Still a WIP.
  • GarageBay9
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    GarageBay9 polycounter lvl 13
    You're WAY oversmoothing those shapes. There's about nine hundred miles of extra tesselation there for what you're after. Look up some of the hard surface / subdiv modeling tutorials and reference here on Polycount and elsewhere on the web; you'll be amazed how little geometry is needed to properly describe hard surfaces when done right and used in conjunction with tools like Meshsmooth.

For reference, I modeled an entire Cessna 208B Caravan - a large single-engine propeller aircraft - for Flight Sim 11 with less than 80k polygons. It was essentially a hard-surface model that was going to be put directly into the game instead of baking to a normal map. The key is knowing where to spend polygons and add edgeloops, where to leave things sparse, and how to mould those surfaces into the final product you want with smoothing tools (MeshSmooth, TurboSmooth, smoothing groups, etc). Right now you're throwing brute force tesselation at flat surfaces, which isn't getting you anything you didn't have before, since you can't make a flat surface any smoother.