Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My first UDK Project. Sci Fi Snow Environment

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
nufftalon polycounter lvl 11
I am new to texturing and all been modeling for about almost a year and a few months. I am trying to find the right metallic base texture that will give me the look sci fi alien look I'm going for. I would love to have some honest crits I need them. I need to improve this and feel I hit a wall. I haven't done the spec map yet only color map (wip), ao map, and cavity map, and normal map so far.

tests9.jpg
tests8.jpg
tests7.jpg
tests6.jpg
snoww.jpg

Replies

• gsokol
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I haven't done the spec map yet

Metal is all about the spec map. Your going to need one to get this to read like metal.
  • Tiraldric
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You might want to look into creating a subtle cube map too, metal can be really gorgeous if done right. Cube maps are fast, easy, and add lots of information to metal that may otherwise be boring.
  • johnicus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yeah a spec map is going to take you a lot closer to getting that metallic feel. If you don't want to paint it yourself, you can use the material editor to create a spec from the diffuse that can look almost as good (or better than) as if it were painted.

http://udn.epicgames.com/Three/MaterialsTutorial.html

Scroll down to the "Material Editor" section header and you can see it talks about ways to create one just from the diffuse map and adding in a few nodes. From there it's probably a matter of tweaking variables until you get what you want.
  • nufftalon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message