Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Realistic female game mesh project - feedback much appreciated

Hi everyone, I'm a new member at polycount. I'm a games design student working on a 3d character project, which is near completion. What I'd love is some feedback on all aspects of the mesh and textures. I have a limit of 10,000 triangles for this project and the end result has to be showcased in the Unreal engine. Anyway, without any further ado here are some images from various stages of the project.

Base mesh (3dsMax)
frontimprovedbasemesh.jpg

Sculpt and polypaint (ZBrush)
zbrush_front.jpg

zbrush_3quarter.jpg

zbrush_back.jpg

Unwrap
template.jpg

re-topologised, textured mesh (UDK)

udk_front.jpg

udk_back3quarter.jpg

I don't want to spam with too many images in the same post (although I think I may have done that already) as this can take a while to load unless you have a super internet connection, but if there's anything that you're interested in seeing (certain angles, or maps) I can post these up.

Feedback, crit, etc all very very welcome, thankyou for your time :)

Replies

• Ace-Angel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ace-Angel polycounter lvl 12
    What references did you use? She currently looks like the tallest woman Gimili would ever sleep with and brag about with his friends.

Her proportions are off, she seems off balance, and materials looks like something that belong to a jade statue (too much SSS absorption and scatter).

So yeah, reference plox!
  • fish4brains
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    These references are from 3d.sk I checked the proportions during and after sculpting to make sure they were pretty close.

As I say I'm a student so in regards to the sub surface scattering I'm completely clueless. Could you give me any pointers for improvement or link me to any good tutorials on the subject.

front.jpg
    back.jpg
    side.jpg

quick demo (doesn't seem to loop I'm afraid, must have forgotten some setting or other)