Home General Discussion

HELP!! BAD ART LEAD!!??

Hey guys, I'm new here, I had to rant about this I wasn't sure if I should do it with anyone at work so here goes... and apologies this will be long.

I am at my WITS END.

I'm a mid level artist been working maybe about 3 years in the industry, Now I'm incredibly efficient, I love systems, I love organization, I love writing shit down and finding the most efficient, cost effective way in getting things done, and when I was in my second art job I was working under a Producer, who was actually doubling as an art lead, and he ended up getting fired because the CEO (it was a very small company) thought I was doing such a great job it didn't make sense keeping the other. This ended up sucking for me by the way but long story short, I decided I wouldn't be my usual overachieving self at my next job. Fast forward my present company I like it, good environment, takes good care of the employees, but SHIT LEAD.

Now look, I'm pretty intuitive, I can tell when someone's bullshitting their way through a job and this seems to be exactly what's going on now.
We have what seems to be a relic leading the team, a very defensive and insecure one who only hires interns and juniors to work with him I guess so seniors don't call him out or show him up.
We've actually had two really great art directors come work with us before that left in less than 3 months, who were ten times better than this guy, I'm talking actual respectable, bona fide, art directors that could put their pencil where their mouth was. We lost them, because they felt undervalued.

Lemme try to get to the point, besides those two who left my job in less than 3 months, I've only worked under a "real" Art director once before, he kind of doubled as a lead and art director,it was a small company but I can guarantee