Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Review needed!

Hey everyone!

For one of my assignments i had to model a high poly tank and then make it a low poly and import it to UDK. Ive done all. Now the last bit is to get some reviews from you!

As its my first year in uni im not super good, but i did my best. Any review is appreciated.

I've included all the images in the links bellow.

Thanks a lot guys!

1.jpg
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg
5.jpg
6.jpg
7.jpg
8.jpg

Replies

• SHEPEIRO
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SHEPEIRO polycounter lvl 17
    you have shading errors in your normal map. technical forum has alot of info on this

your diffuse is too dark and muddy

and your specular has too high an exponent and looks like plastic
  • Tidus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    What's the polycount? Looks too low poly. Try increasing the poly count and the texture size. And you definitely have to mess with the specular map. The specular is the most important thing when trying to simulate a metallic material.

I would leave that as a base colour, and would go crazy adding and tweaking photographs.

Check these tutorials:
    http://www.game-artist.net/forums/spotlight-articles/9178-tutorial-texturing-metal-crate.html
    http://www.game-artist.net/forums/spotlight-articles/42-tutorial-hard-surface-texture-painting.html

Try also decreasing the specular power; it looks wet as it is right now. This is also affecting the visibility of the normal map. In the pics I can barely see any detail pumping out.
  • AtlusZMH
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yeah, show us the flat textures and wireframes so we can see what it looks like.
  • Stromberg90
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Stromberg90 polycounter lvl 11
    Your images are HUGE!
    2oOrA.jpg

Second everything that is said here, mainly work on getting the model and normal map to work together, wonder if it was baked from a highpoly or image generated normal map?