Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Scrapyard Claw (UDK)

More or less finished with my high-poly, will be starting my low on Sunday. I am interested in using zbrush for weld seam details but I have no experience in the program, not even familiar with the UI. If I can't figure it out I plan on using filters and overlays in photoshop.

If anyone can provide me with helpful links regarding creating weld seams using either method that would be greatly appreciated. As always, critiques are welcome as well.

The last image is going to be used as a normal map overlay for the claw.

uK0QW.jpg

fbBjeh.jpg

bSxFPh.jpg

M5m1zh.jpg

Replies

• schneller
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    schneller polygon
    I'm not sure if this post would help you at all:

http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=54678

Your high poly looks nice and clean. Texturing that should be fun!
  • burtonyang
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Good job man. The only thing I would say is to ease up on some of the edge control you have. Some of your edges are extremely tight, exaggerate them a little more for better a better normals map. I only notice one part of your claw that has soft edges, so have that idea in mind.
  • Xelan101
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Xelan101 polycounter lvl 10
    Hey Jared, so I totally agree with Burton on the edges. Tight edges look badass on a high poly render but when you bake them down they tend to look strange. Softening the edges up a bit helps this read a bit more and exaggerates the form somewhat which again aids readability.