Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Modular Dungeon

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Orangeknight polycounter lvl 5
So this is my first project on polycount and I'm hoping it will go well. My environment is a tile based modular dungeon based off games like the original Elderscrolls. Well here are the screenshots, be aware that it looks crappy because I just imported it into UDK and haven't touched lighting and basic plugin material. Also not so sure about the design of the ceiling design, still have SO much to do and I plan to use alot of vertex paint.

Replies

• Orangeknight
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Sorry To Double Post but I would like to know what you guys think on the general design. I especially want to know what you think of the roof.
  • cholden
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cholden polycounter lvl 18
    I'm making one of these too.

My initial concern is that this is extremely basic. Check out Legend of Grimrock and Amnesia for reference. Even those small budget, small team projects have vastly more detail. Model in bricks, major shapes, etc.

You may run in to a lighting issue with UDK if your pieces have no backface. Essentially, lighting passes through open meshes. This won't be a problem if you build a tight interior and light it from the inside. However, using that default skylight it can pass through and cause a lot of problems
  • Stromberg90
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Stromberg90 polycounter lvl 11
    Agree with what cholden said here.
    And you should at least remove the seams in you texture jhFzi.jpg
  • TheGoozah
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Indeed... I ran into some problems myself with lighting because of no backface. I'm not sure if you're using BSP's in that UDK shot, if not, I would recommend it... I hope that wasn't a silly comment :p