Home Unreal Engine

Laying out UVs for modular pieces???

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Notes polycounter lvl 4
This is my first time attempting to make modular pieces for UDK and I was wondering about how to lay out my UVs for the different pieces.
Say the roof here( pic below) I have the UVs packed to the edges which is going to be on a 1024 map with a tileable texture.

roof.jpg

Now the pillars here, modular as well are packed the same way...the issue I see here are the texture density between the two...

pillars.jpg

from the Max viewport, the pillars are going to get more texture detail compared to the roof....but when I scale down the pillar to match the texture density of the roof....
pilar2.jpg
It has the same texture density now...but im thinking that when a 512 map is applied to this, it would only get like fourth of the textures of the 512 map? is that right???

Im unwrapping and setting the pieces aside, if someone can direct me as how to lay them out I would greatly appreciate it....thanks

Replies

• Notes
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Notes polycounter lvl 4
    there will also be pieces that wont have tileable textures as well...im thinking...I should pack all of the non tileable UVs into one 2048 UV page...and the tileable pieces I should pack them like the pillars above but use a 512 UV/texture page???
  • unstoppablex
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    i would avoid UV sharing between meshes just for the strong reason that if those meshes are not on the screen at the same time, you have wasted texture space because unused mesh textures are being loaded into memory because it shares it's texture map with something that is on screen.

as for the texture density, a quick way to solve your problem, if you downscale the pillars and it only uses a fourth of the 512 map now, make it a 256 map, which is exactly one quarter of 512 :)