Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[wip] Pick head Axe - Low poly modeling and Normal Maps

Ok, so I'm new at taking the idea modeling to low poly in regard for use in a game engine. I'm starting out simple. I've done some research on mapping and such as I've really only focused on the modeling aspect itself in high poly.

Right now I'm working on a Pick head Axe in 3Ds Max. From what I understood from various readings, Normal maps have these requirements to work:

1) all polys are on smoothing group 1 (I'm thinking this isnt anywhere near accurate as only 1 smoothing group does weird stuff to the model)
2) the max detail required for the low poly model only needs to accurately retain the silouette of the high poly.

I'm working on this model under the assumption that I can have a max of 500 polys, but for a simpler object such as this I'm thinking between 200 - 300 would be optimum.

Here is a comparison render:
-Top Axe is High Poly intended only for Normal Baking.
-Middle is low poly with Normal Map applied and all polys on smoothing group 1.
-Bottom axe is just a plain low poly model with all polys smoothing group 1.
Low poly models are 225 polys. (could be 199 poly if I remove the center line, but I used that for my mapping seams so...)
The geometry of the head and handle are separate pieces; just part of the same object.

There also seems to be a huge difference in renderers. Here is Scanline: Close but seems to have artifacts. The shading on the low poly handle seems to be too sharp, and the shading of the axe head is a bit flat.
6906132690_18f2eab309_b_d.jpg

And here is Mental Ray: Can't really tell there's a difference between the 2 low poly meshes.
6906132660_26f4235c78_b_d.jpg

Here is the same with wire. Mental Ray with composite mat. for wires. (Scanline only renders wires for some reason.)
6906071500_9c09f9d017_b_d.jpg

Here is my UVW unwrap for the low poly model. First time experimenting with this so not really sure how well it is done but...