Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Russian WW2 SU122 tank

Hey,

my first thread ever on this beautiful site. After i got a bit tired with modeling all those milion cars over the years i started to do this tank last week. We talked a bit with Waaarg, user on this for, and he recommended me to use it for some good feedbacks.

My plan with this project is to create SU122 for games with recent specs. First highpoly, then lowpoly, map lowpoly and texture it. I would say for lowpoly tris count should be fine to remain under 10k triangles and for the texture i am thinking about 2048x2048 one.

As i am pretty new to anything else than doing cars i would be happy to see what you think about this, kick my ass when i will go in wrong dirrection.

Cheers.

clay9.jpg
clay10.jpg
clay11.jpg

Replies

• AmbiguousPackage
    Very nice, really digging the details. Which variant of the SU-122 is this?

Also not sure if you have ever seen this site but its great for everything military on reference images. No SU-122 sadly but tons of the SU-100 which is a very similar tank pretty much the same hull but with different armaments.

http://www.primeportal.net/the_battlefield_armor.htm
  • pmcgowan
    nice details post wires plz :) how many polys?
  • Xoliul
    Offline / Send Message
    Xoliul polycounter lvl 14
    Hey man, I remember you back from SMC!
    I'm sure you'll do fine at this, but one thing might be worth keeping in mind: it helps to simplify and change things away from realism a bit, to improve the looks or decrease the amount of work it takes to get it all UV'd and baked.
    Mainly:
    -making edges softer, especially the main corners or the hull will look nicer if you don't make them as sharp as real life, they'll catch more spec that way. Same for the small nuts and details: make them softer and more sloped, so they bake better. That way you won't have to use obscene texture sizes to get it to show up.