Home General Discussion

Education and a career in the CG industry

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Olli. polycounter lvl 8
tl;dr in red

Ive got some questions regarding a career in the CG industry and my level of education. The reason i say CG industry instead of games industry is i dont want to rule out offline rendering for motion pictures and what-not it'd be nice to get an answer for both the CGI industry and the games industry.

Im basically a self taught modeler, texturer and animator, and I've got extensive knowledge of 3ds max, photoshop, CryEngine2/3, Adobe After Effects and some knowledge about Adobe Audition. Also got a good grasp on the asset creation pipeline from high poly to low poly to skinned and animated game asset.

so anyways, Ive had a lot of people tell me that if you dont get educated enough, your career will hit a dead end sooner or later. The problem is that everyone who has told me that basically works in an IT firm or some big corporate office, and Ive never gotten an opinion from someone who actually works in the industry (until now hopefully) Im currently only a finnish high school graduate, but I'm about to go to Uni for information technologies next Autumn. If I go through with that I'll be a Master of Science in Technology (DI) in about 3-4 years
The reason im not going to school about game design or CGI is because there really aren't any good schools for that in Finland.

So now on to the actualy question: lets say i landed a job in the industry before I graduate from Uni, and If i do get a job, I wont be going to Uni (since odds are the job will be abroad). Would you guys think it would be smart to hold hold off and finish Uni and get my degree before moving on to work in the industry?

Replies

• Jesse Moody
    Offline / Send Message
    Jesse Moody polycounter lvl 17
    Degrees open up other opportunities like work visas in other countries. So it is always good to have it.