Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] Daniel Mitchell

Hey everyone I am new to this forum and wanted to introduce myself by showing everyone my site. I would really appreciate crit on my work and some advice on what I should add to show off skills potential employers would be looking for. I think my best strength is concept art but I am developing a passion for high poly character modelling and texturing. Here's my site:

www.danielmitchellart.com

hope you enjoy!

A little background: I graduated in december last year and live in Australia.

Cheers!

Replies

• chrisradsby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    chrisradsby polycounter lvl 14
    Hey there, welcome :) Just so you know: we don't bullshit with our critique here.

Okay here we go:

The initial impression of your portfolio is quite weak, make sure you follow regular design rules like the grid-system to help you line up things properly. Don't use hotmail, use gmail or something that feels at least a little bit more professional. You're not selling yourself as something either? What's your title? 3d-artist? concept-artist?

When applying to a company you need to sell yourself as something, and you need to be pretty damn good at the thing you do.

Regarding the content, to me it feels like you're lacking the basic skills, here we usually want to see game-ready art. The high-poly Zbrush stuff looks a little bit awkward, proportions not being entirely correct and they end up looking blobby instead of well-defined.

The weapons you've made, the axes look pretty cool, would be great if you could get them to a game-ready state and show them off in a game-engine :)

There are thousands of really really good Zbrush sculpters out there, if you're going to have a portfolio full with Zbrush sculpted stuff you need to make sure it looks awesome and as good as the rest of them. You're not showing any skill in texturing or regular propping right now.