Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Newb to high poly modeling

[IMG][/img]Stagg_HPSCIFIDOOR4.jpg

Hi,

I am actually modeling this based on someone elses concept, this is my first attempt at high poly modeling. any tips?

Thanks ^.^

Replies

• -Joe-
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Looking good so far! Are you following the concept very closely or are u using it as just a sort of guide to follow?
  • Alucasia
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    It's fairly close, the surrounding parts of the door especially. Thanks =D
  • megancheung
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I have a high poly sculpt of a hand that I want to render normals and displacement maps for a lower poly decimation but I dont know how to preserve uv coordinates in the decimation process.
  • SINtuition
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Megancheung: If I were you I would avoid that situation altogether. It's better to retopologize meshes and then UV unwrap the low poly version. The problem with decimation is that the edges tend to get all weird. Unfortunately that means that even if you DID preserve the UV's through the decimation process, your UV charts would have weird jaggy edges.