Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WIP Bracer (16 year old newbie artist)

My name is Luke Wall, and I'm a young artist from West Tennessee (the most culturally dry place on the planet) and I have been doodling with 3ds max on and off since I was 10, on the old version 5 that my dad owned. But I have a student edition of 3ds Max and Mudbox now (and GIMP), so I'm really trying to hone my skills as much as possible before heading to school for Animation. I designed a bracer and I'm kind of looking for some feedback. Whats good, whats not, what looks cool, what looks like crap. It's cool if you want to bash me. As long as I learn something from it. The bracer was slightly based off of Link's bracer in Legend of Zelda TP. It's more of a metal version though. I'm still trying to learn some more about textures and how to make them work right (and my mudbox skills arent awesome). In essence, I'm practically a complete noob to 3D modeling. Any links you could send me would be awesome (free, preferebly. all my money goes to insurance. I've already checked out gnomon workshop and digital tutors). So, here is the bracer. Let me know what you think.

iron_bracer_by_drokendareheart-d4tlfwc.png

Replies

• Erafic
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Erafic polycounter lvl 10
    By the look of it it sorta looks like something I'd have cranked out at about the same age/time in studies. Its a bit hard to judge though. If you can you should provide us with a picture showing the wireframe so one can see how the mesh is built and also tell us how many triangles it consists of.
  • Jimmg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jimmg polycounter lvl 5
    You need to sharpen up the edges, and have some variance in the texture. Kinda looks like you painted it then spotted random orange around the metal.
  • KingLuke24
    Options
    Offline / Send Message