Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Uni project; Dino WIP

Hey guys, this is pretty much my first post on a forum like this ever so...let's get started. I'm in my final year of uni and for one of my modules I have to model a dinosaur, texture, rig it and get it running around in UDK. I finished the sculpt the other night and here it is. Please critique away, I get marked for taking your opinions on board!

I took some liberties with the design and took inspiration from other dinosaurs and animals like crocs. It's meant to be a pachycephalosaurus, or something from that family.

ScreenHunter_09Mar151949.jpg

ScreenHunter_08Mar151948.jpg

ScreenHunter_10Mar151952.jpg

ScreenHunter_11Mar15192.jpg

Replies

• chakkrit
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Made the tail longer, think it looks a bit better now.

tail.jpg
  • Dataday
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dataday polycounter lvl 8
    I think you posted this on Game Artisians as well..

Did you sculpt in the muscles and bone protrusions first? usually thats a good practice to getting anatomy for any creature to look believable.

Showing some of the ribs (shape) along the skin would help understand its bone structure. I also feel like the thigh should be slanted a bit towards the tail to off set the weight of the entire body, kind of like what you did with the arm going towards the head.

I guess the over all impression im getting is that I want to see or feel like theres bone and muscle under those scales.

Just my opinion. Good luck with the sculpt!
  • chakkrit
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yeah, I've got this same thread on here, CGSociety and GameArtisans. Sorry for the spamming, but this project counts towards my degree and I receive marks for taking on board critique from professional forums such as this, so I needed the thread to have maximum exposure.