Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

UDK - Overgrown Street

Hey everyone!

I wanted to post up a small project I finished recently for school, I graduate this April so I'm really trying to get all my work together for a reel. Anyways I have about a month before I finish so I have some time to do a little revision If needed.

The environment was inspired by Last of us and Enslaved I really love the feeling of the environment being taken back by nature so I wanted to give it a shot.

If you see anything that I could add or fix or if you want to see anything more in detail I would love to hear, I appreciate any and all crits.:poly121:

OvergrownEnvironment.JPG

OvergrownEnvironment2.JPG

OvergrownEnvironment3.JPG

Replies

• Two Listen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Two Listen polycount sponsor
    I really like it! One thing bothers me from a design standpoint, there's a lot of really big roots there. I'm not an expert on plants, but I would expect such roots to be from some sort of massive tree or other sort of thing. As it is I see huge roots, but no plants I imagine would need them.

If I saw a really massive tree somewhere, I'd like it that much more.
  • TimPogson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    That's the one thing when I was creating the environment and making the roots I thought It might be OK to show the roots going into the ground and it would be enough. Creating a tree would be super sweet if I have time I would love to make the tree that was large enough for the roots to make sense. I was even thinking of doing the tree kind of like the one in this enslaved picture.

The placement of the tree I'm not to sure of because if I place it in the middle wouldn't it block all the stuff on the bottom and kinda take away from some depth?

D.jpg
  • Darkleopard
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    It looks cool, but im not sure the roots going from window to window are that practical :P
  • Two Listen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message