Home Contests & Challenges Archives

[DS2] Hammer, Zombie Acorn

Hello all, this is my first contest here and I am also fairly new to modeling in general compared to some of the talent I have seen here so I am looking to improve. I don't have internet on my main computer so I have to kind of compile my progress as I go and post it.

My concept currently is a hammer that captures human souls in stone. I want to show that the human parts are not entirely decorative and I want some color/life in them as if they were once living. Currently I just put a quick polypaint over the top as I wanted to test in unreal.

My biggest issue right now is the UV mapping. I am not sure if it is better to pelt map the whole thing as I did with the lighting channel (which also needs to be re-uved). The face is currently sharing UV space in my first UV channel so I think this will help me get more detail.

Anyways, any crits are welcome I am going to continue working on this.

Current poly count is: ~1099.

progessshotszombie.png

Replies

• dproeder
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    dproeder polycounter lvl 5
    Are you working from any Concept Art? Always helps to have blueprints! Good Start.
  • Habboi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Habboi sublime tool
    As for UV mapping I would personally select each side, 1 at a time and use the Planar button and Best Align. (3DS Max) I'd then select the edges and stitch them back together in the tools menu.
  • Zombie Acorn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    dproeder wrote: »
    Are you working from any Concept Art? Always helps to have blueprints! Good Start.

I made a small sketch and just fleshed it out in zbrush so I am not really working directly from concept (retopologized it afterwards which was a good learning experience). If I have time to do a second weapon I might try to get a full concept drawing.
  • Zombie Acorn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Habboi wrote: »