Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Ice Cream Truck WIP

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
themanatee polycounter lvl 5
Hey!
This is my first time posting and I'm quite new to 3D so some feedback would be great :D

I'm making a low poly ice cream truck for a school assignment. We have a budget of 500 tris and the truck is 428. This is what I've made so far:

icecreamtruck2.png

icecreamtruck1.png

icecreamtruckuv.png

Replies

• themanatee
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Remade my UVs. The diffuse has to be 128x128 and when I scaled them down I realized I had to put some more space between them.

icecreamtruckuv.png
  • Visceral
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I know its a low poly assignment, but you should really spend thoose 70 tris you have to go. Maybe add windows? Refine the siluette a bit?
  • Steve Schulze
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Steve Schulze polycounter lvl 18
    If your budgets this tight, I'd recommend deleting the sides of your wheels and replacing them with a single quad each with an alpha channel. You might need to make the wheel texture a little larger on your UV, but you'll be saving yourself 48 tris.

You could make those UV islands much larger. You're wasting a lot of precious pixels there. At that scale every one of them has to count. Your layout is also not particularly efficient. It's worth spending time playing with the UV island arrangement until you have a good balance of efficient use of space and ease of texturing - If you can give yourself straight lines to work on, for example, you'll wind up with a much nicer looking texture.

Consider if there are areas on your UV that will have less detail or importance - the undercarriage for example, allowing you to scale up other parts that have more detail/importance.

Make sure you've stacked all of the mirrored areas of the UV. There are a couple of parts that you could still stack that'll save you a not insignificant amount of UV space.