Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

LOWPOLY - Creature/Pet

Hi! We got this assigment to do a lowpoly at my school.
I decided to do a creature/pet.

We are allowed to have 500 polygons, mine is currently on 424.

Here is my concept:

conceptpet.png

and my model looks like this:

wirepersp01.png

wirepersp02.png

My Uv's looks like this:

61051669.png

Feel free to give me feedback! :)

Replies

• xXm0RpH3usXx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    xXm0RpH3usXx polycounter lvl 13
    sry, i'm not good at saying things nicely:

1. your beard planes could be reduced to only one plane mapped with the strands if you are going really lowpoly.
    2. you are waisting a lot of uv space
    3. the hands look way too blocky, i would chamfer t he sides a bit to make the silhouette less sharp
    4. there is no geometric detail in the face, which is bad, as the figure lives because of the cute face
    5. i think the tail is wayy to lowpoly aswell, looks a lot more elegant on the reference
    6. there is no connection between body and legs. you should also look into the flow of the mesh there, as yours is not "realistic" (as in, there are muscles)

an extra tip would be the following:
    as you are only allowed to have a very limited polycount budget you must rethink your modeling approach. you dont need quads in this one. go with tris. you must be carefull that deformable parts dont look ugly in an animation, but you dont need all quads over the whole model. i think you could save a few here and there that you could invest in other parts of t he model. my main concern is that it looks like a blob, rather than a naturally grown character.

sry, please dont take it bad :$
  • leaf3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Have to agree with xxmorph. You're a very capable modeller looking at your other thread. I just don't think it's possible to make a creature that detailed in under 500 polys. Maybe I'm wrong.
  • GabrielP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message