Home General Discussion

what should i charge?

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Olli. polycounter lvl 8
Yesterday i was approached via email by a guy who is producing an insert for the national public-broadcasting company (think BBC except less international). He had seen a model of an RK-62 i had made on crydev.net, and he asked if i could render him some footage of it so he can use it in his insert.

The problem is he asked me to provide an estimate of how much i should charge him for the work, and I've never done any 3D stuff for money before so i really have absolutely no idea what to charge.. Quite honestly I'd be happy to do it for free (i mean cmon i'd get my model on national television :D) but i dont have a job and i need all the money i can get so id rather not let this chance go.. then again since i know nothing about this, im afraid i might say some ridiculously high amount and turn him away..

so, im sure there are a lot of people who have done commercial stuff in 3d, can some of you recommend a price range?

almost forgot: what he asked me to render was a 360 spin view of the weapon, a scrolling marquee type view of the weapon, and also some play footage kind of like in this video:
[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_OJ2Dm-RHIM"]RK-62 Crysis 2 - YouTube[/ame]
except with an alpha channel, so it can be inserted in to AE

The weapon is just a game-ready mesh with diff/spec/gloss/norms which i made as a personal project for the crydev community, and making these videos probably wont take me long (except for the last play video, since i might have to rig some new arms because i doubt they want to have the nanosuit in the tv programme lol)

Replies

• Neox
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Neox godlike master sticky