Home Technical Talk

cgTech1 Model Viewer Alpha (Image Heavy)

Hi there guys, i've been following polycount for years and i never really posted anything great so I am taking the chance right now. First, i'd like to introduce myself. My name is Romulo Fernandes and i'm a professional Java and C++ developer. On game / graphics development, I worked mainly on modifications for Quake 3 but over the last 4 years i developed my own engine, i call her cgTech1. cgTech1 is far from done but its shaping nicely (mainly for a one-guy-work), so here i am, asking you to help me test and improve this tool. Since it is alpha quality (and 64 bit only) i expect it to crash, bug and everything else, but I am taking suggestions, making improvements and adapting it, to create a good, free and professional tool to view models in real time. Thanks.

Here it is. Thank you very much once again.
http://www.castorgroup.net/cgtech/dokuwiki/doku.php?id=modelviewer

Some mandatory shots of it:

Ninja Girl from SDK page:
nl5sgh.jpg
28iqa7s.jpg

Just a sphere with a simple glass material:
246rq52.jpg

From Fewes:
eamofd.jpg
zvpyzc.jpg

WIP shots:
124v8k4.jpg
fk5e6w.jpg
1qop6u.jpg
2s84cwo.jpg

Disclaimer: I do NOT own those models. All of them were created by members of the polycount community. They were just used for testing.

Replies

• haiddasalami
    Offline / Send Message
    haiddasalami polycounter lvl 14
    Nice stuff will check it out. Been experimenting with WEBGL for a online model viewer but havent worked on it in a while. Something UI wise, maybe render a smaller version/resize the texture so its easier for artists to use. Will post more feedback when I check it out.
  • Bauken
    Offline / Send Message
    Bauken polycounter lvl 8
    Really an excellent program that gives beautiful results, but if i may make one suggestion, the one thing that i find myself missing tremendously is an emissive / glow channel for the textures. Excellent work!
  • haikai
    Offline / Send Message