Home Unreal Engine

Motion Blur on Particles

Yanni
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Yanni polycounter lvl 6
Hello,

I'm fairly new to UDK and even though I've been practising particles and simulations in Maya and Realflow I thought I should try the particle system in UDK. I'm working on a scene in which there is snow, fog and mist and the problem that I'm having is with the Motion Blur for the snow.

I did some research and I found out that there are two different techniques to do MB in UDK, Soft Edge Motion Blur and Camera Motion Blur. Since I only want the snow to be affected by MB I assumed that I had to use Soft Edge Motion Blur and not Camera Motion Blur because I don't want the MB to be generated from the camera's movement, but instead from the particles' velocity.

I followed a guide from UDK in the help file, but I couldn't get it to work. The end result did not affect the particles in any way and just blurred the viewport, changing values and tweeking the settings didn't make much of a difference. The way I overcame the problem is I edited the scale of the particles to make them look more like lines of snow and less like dots of snow (tried to "fake" the MB). I'm still not entirely happy with the result that is why I'm asking here in the forum for any help to get the MB on the particles to work.

I've attached a screenshot of what I'm working on, to give you a clearer idea of my problem. Any help would be much appreciated, thank you.

Link to screenshot: http://i807.photobucket.com/albums/yy360/yanni_1988/Polycount_MB.jpg

Replies

• Visceral
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I would try to use the technique your where using to fake it. Honestly it must be some fierce snowstorm inorder for the flakes to generate motionblur. Snow cant be falling that fast can it? And if it did i dont think anyone would even see it.