Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Female Character Model

Hi everyone, I've been working on a 3D model for a uni assignment.This is progress so far, essentially a base mesh ready to be taken into Zbrush. As this is my first time modelling a full character, hearing feedback from more experienced and skilled artists would be awesome. Thanks

[IMG][/img]render1.jpg

[IMG][/img]footrender.jpg

[IMG][/img]handren.jpg

[IMG][/img]heandren.jpg

Replies

• krimzondestiny
    Well, the first thing that sticks out to me is the number of polygons you put into this mesh if you're going to place it into Zbrush. What exactly is your process?

From a figure sculpting standpoint, the front silhouette looks pretty good, but her profile is awkward. Her torso is elongated. I would shorten it, and then subsequently shorten the arms a bit. Also, the front of the rib cage extends forward a bit too far. I would bring it back a bit.
  • Baj Singh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Baj Singh polycounter lvl 9
    I think it might be worth running a polygon relax feature in your respective 3D modelling program. Right now there are areas around the mouth/lips and under the nose where the polygons are too rectangular. Its easier to sculpt with polygons that are as equilateral as possible and they deform better when subdivided.

Whilst its still important, usually I don't worry about proportions too much in this stage as I find its much faster and easier to move polygons around in ZBrush and correct any proportion issues there. However, the downside to this of course is that you can sometimes end up stretching/compressing polygons too much so sometimes it can be a case of flipping back and forth between ZBrush and your other 3D program, adding or removing polygons as you need to and then continuing to fix your silhouette.

Good luck mate :).
  • krimzondestiny