Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook - samcole

Inspired by cholden, and other people I know in real life I've started to do 1 hour speed paints every night before I go to bed. Started last night, so I've done two so far. These were done using photos I pulled from Google. This will be half journal/half critique. I'm pretty new to digital painting so these are going to be real rough as I try to find my workflow. Thanks guys.

From Yesterday:
6901018783_250a659027_z.jpg

From tonight:
6901018823_01927eaa7b_b.jpg

Replies

• samcole
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Today's 1 HR. painting, took inspiration from the idrawgirls.com video. Tried to do something similar to him. No reference used for this one.

6906894777_f85bf5e6ab_b.jpg

I need to find some resources/sites that can offer more tips/tricks. Right now just kind of stumbling through all of this myself.
  • samcole
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I got inspired by one of my cousin's photos, so I decided to use it for my 1 hour speedpaint today. I'm feeling a bit better about my skills, I would like to start to branch out into my own concepts within the next couple of weeks, but I need to still get my entire workflow down. I still stop a lot to find the brushes I want, and get the textures/details the way I want. But things are starting to flow better.

Small Triumphs I guess.

6913929349_83291ffaf3_b.jpg
  • Joseph Silverman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joseph Silverman polycounter lvl 17
    Nice to see you leaping in, these are nice and bold and show clear intent. You need to think more in terms of big masses of lighting and shapes, and less in terms of what you THINK you see.

Google brought this up; check it out, but don't get too lost in the details:

Part 1: Digital Environment Painting with Noah Bradley - YouTube
  • samcole
    Options
    Offline / Send Message