Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Game Props Project

Hello everyone!

This is my first thread on the Polycount Forum. My name is Anders and I'm studying CG in Sweden at gsCEPT. I'm currently working on my specialization project, in which I will create props for games.

I will create the following:
  • One organic prop, an oak tree.
  • One hard-surface model, a motorcycle. (As detailed as possible)
  • One low poly character. ( ~2500 triangles, 512x512 diffuse map)
I will work on these until the end of Mars 2012. I have been working on them since January, so... I should have begun this thread much earlier.

Anyhow, if you could give me any feedback on my work I would be very grateful.

As a part in the course I'm doing, I have to blog about my progress.

Moodbard

Here is a moodboard.
20120119_moodboard_with_concept1.jpg

The oak

Here is some progress on the oak.
20120119_lowpoly_branches.jpg
20120118_lowpoly_branches.jpg
20120122_oak_udk.jpg
20120122_oak_clothed.jpg
20120123_oak_wireframe.jpg
20120123_oak_wireframe_color.jpg
20120123_oak_variations_udk.jpg

I think the oak is to small and have to much polygons. A friend told me it looks as if it's the same size as a short apple tree. Not the thing I was aiming for, I had in mind a 15 meter (50 feet) high tree.

How should I make it bigger without making the canopy less dense? I thought about making the branch in the branch texture bigger so each polygon packs denser branches... The model as it is is about 10 k triangles with one 512x512 diffuse and normal map for the branches and the bark respectively.

As my time schedule runs by, my work for the tree has to cease for the moment.

The motorcycle

Here is a moodboard for the motorcycle.
20120124_mc_ortho_moodboard.jpg

Here is some wip:s pictures of the high poly modeling.
20120125_mc_mockup_1.jpg
20120125_mc_mockup_7.jpg

Here is two Maya renders of the highpoly model. (final gather, 2.1 M triangles)
20120213_mc_highpoly02.jpg
20120213_mc_highpoly01.jpg