Home Unity

Scripting: Javascript, C#, or Boo

LW3
LW3
I was curious who uses what for scripting: Javascript (or UnityScript since it's not exactly JS), C#, or Boo. - LW3

Replies

• equil
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I use javascript, but i'm not a programmer or anything. I also came in with some prior experience with javascript, back when the entire documentation was all in js. There is some functionality missing from js that C# has and boo might have(?). Practically no one seems to use boo though, so it's a bit harder to find support and snippets.

C# is probably the "best" language, since that's what everything ends up as internally anyway, but javascript is probably easier to pick up.
  • mdeforge
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    mdeforge polycounter lvl 14
    I was pumped to use C#, but after trying to get stuff done quickly and seeing a ton of JS examples, I've only been using. I think I'll switch for my next project though.
  • commander_keen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    commander_keen polycounter lvl 18
    I used to use Unityscript but now I would definitely recommend C#. Unityscript might be slightly easier to learn but the only advantage it has is dynamic typing. You can pretty much do dynamic typing in C# too by casting to Object. C# also has some really nice features that Unityscript doesnt like variable accessors (get and set functions for variables).

Also the intellisense thingy for MonoDevelop doesnt work very well with Unityscript.
  • kio
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kio polycounter lvl 16
    actually i use boo as i was more used to the python like syntax, worked out pretty good so far. as not many seem using it, its a bit sad that there is not so much ready to use code around, but most of the time its quite easy to convert from c# to boo.

im thinking about switchting back to c# - but im quite happy for now with boo.
  • Elyaradine
    Options
    Offline / Send Message