Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Male Character-WIP

Hey, im an games animator in my final year at teeside uni (whoop) anyway i needed to make a character to put my mocap on for my fyp so i crunched anatomy and this is what i got

characterwip.jpg
Kinda dont know where to go with it atm, as i want to get the clothing done but dont want to start it there are any problems i havent seen. I feel like the head is too big atm as well

Replies

• Conrad
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I really like what uve done so far , anatomy seems pretty solid but the body seems too short maybe? if its suposed to be a teen i dunno its got a 7.5 head height which seems to be a good height measurement:poly124:
  • AsaNYC
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AsaNYC polycounter lvl 12
    But this looks great as is. Realistic in proportions and very grounded. If you were going for heroic/Loomis proportions then the head is too big.

It's all subjective I suppose.

I'm lookin' forward to seeing what you do with this base.
  • s33th
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The few times I've worked with mocap data there's always been a 'default' rig to go along with the system. Then you'd have to do retargeting from that base rig to anyone with different proportions. So if it's available to you I'd recommend grabbing that rig and fit your model to that. It could save you some headaches in the future.

Not sure how much you want for anatomy crits but here's a few things that stick out:
    His hipbones look unnatural - that hard crease on either side doesn't work. I'd smooth out the bottom crease where the sartorius connects to the hip bone.
    Most peoples' sternocleidomastoid would be more prominently defined at the person's center line where the clavicles meet rather than further out how you have it. Sort of looks like he's tensing his neck currently.