Home Unity

Unity - Bone rotation to track mouse?

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Malloy polycounter lvl 6
Hi there,

I basically have a character controller with a custom motor script. I'm new to Unity and am finding it very splintered compared to other engines but am required to use it for a university assignment. For my assignment I intend to create a 2.5D side-scroller as it will be achievable in the time span given by the uni. Everything was going swimmingly until I had to 'AddAnimationMix' some bones (stop them from animating so that they can become manipulated) and set it to track the mouse. I have googled and searched the crap out of the unity help forums but I am still to no fix. Does anybody know an assured 'script' to bone [gameObject] method so I can carry on with developing the character controls?

p.s I'm using Javascript script

Thanks!

Replies

• jerry
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I think you can change the bones' localtransform in the LateUpdate function. Since this gets called after the animations have been processed you can override the rotation.

Hope this works.
  • Malloy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Malloy polycounter lvl 6
    Thanks for the response! I have however been running it thought the LateUpdate function. I tried to apply the logic of how I've done it in 2D side-scrollers but for some reason local transform.rotate-ing the Z axis rotates it along the Y simultaneously... I've had a good sleep since yesterday and i've practically just woken up. Hopefully with a fresh mind i'll get to the bottom of this! (if I do, i'll post findings here incase it helps others) :)
  • LoTekK
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LoTekK polycounter lvl 17
    Assuming you're actually using
    <bone>.localRotation.z

that's likely where your multiple axis rotation is coming from.

localRotation takes Quaternions, and not euler (xyz) angles, so you'll want to use
    <bone>.localEulerAngles.z

• jerry
    Options