Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Dandelion Soul WIP

Hi, I'm new here :)

I'm graduating from college in the spring and could use feedback on this portfolio piece. I want this character to reflect the essence of a dandelion. Right now I'm focusing on roots, but I plan on adding leaves as well as I think they are very characteristic of dandelions.

I'm a sculpting noob, I usually work start to finish in Maya and just started messing around in Mudbox a few months ago. I'm sure my technique could use some work. Thanks for looking!

2wejv9x.png

Replies

• dirigible
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    dirigible polycounter lvl 8
    Your sculpting around the neck is way too undefined, but it looks less finished than the face, so I'll assume you aren't done with it. One big thing tho - TURN OFF SYMMETRY ON THE FACE! It looks really unnatural when facial details are perfectly symmetrical. My technique is to use symmetry for basic shapes, and for details on the sides of the face, but any time I start detailing the center of the face I turn it off.

Do you have a character sheet, or concept art, or reference images? When I think of ANY flower I think of the petals first. Do you know what you're doing with the petals? That's probably more important than the roots.
  • kemny
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hi, here are some early concepts...

3h1jt.jpg

2e3zpti.png

And my most recent paintover of my basemesh:

vngvhe.jpg

I am guilty of not nailing down a total concept before working on this character. She's for school, and I wanted it to be the best thing I've done and kept changing my mind, which has slowed me down considerably. (I have about a month left to work on it) Anyway, the aging is part of the concept. I'd like to illustrate it with blend shapes and transitioning hair systems. Here's a look at the petals:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=ZTI3wtdi1uk

As for comments on the symmetry, I totally agree!
  • dirigible