Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Bar Daikaiju Environment

Intro
What's up everyone - browsed the forums for some time, haven't posted much though until now. I graduated from college within the past year (associates), and am focused on landing an environment artist position. I will be attending GDC come March, and I want to have a fresh main portfolio piece on my site since it's been awhile since I've updated it. I feel it no longer reflects my best work. I'm hoping creating this thread will have me take this environment to a whole new level in my work. So let's get to it!

Bar_Daikaiju_ban.jpg

Premise
So recently I played through the game Catherine, and really dug the small subtle environments the characters would go through. They have a couple Japanese bar/restaurant scenes. I also went to Japan 6 months back, and have been wanting to do an environment inspired by that. So I plan to do a fictional restaurant called Bar Daikaiju. It will be located in Tokyo, so a bit of claustrophia is a must. It will be 2 floors. 1st floor is basically a ramen house, while the 2nd is more of a bar/sit-down area. 2nd floor will be a tad bit more upscale.

Plan
I plan to rethink how I approach every step of the process of creating an environment. It's easy to get stuck doing things the same way, so I plan to kinda check myself every now and then. Part of that was creating this topic to get feedback/critiques. I plan on modeling in Max, texturing in Photoshop, and lighting/rendering in UDK. I don't know if I will need Zbrush for anything at the moment, but I'll keep it in mind. I'm a beginner when it comes to UDK/Zbrush, so a big part of this project is me learning the engine efficiently so I can demonstrate this to potential employers. I don't feel I can call myself an environment artist until I do this. So except a lot of questions in here as well probably :P

Schedule