Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] Daryl Smout

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Dazz3r polycounter lvl 12
Hello all, this is my portfolio of best work so far. I'm currently in my second year of a BA Digital Arts at University of Huddersfield.

The work is hosted by the standard Deviant Art portfolio, so I'm not really seeking feedback on the layout/design itself as I will be in the near future creating my own site/page. What I'm looking for is feedback on my work so far...

... what's my weakest piece? is there anything glaringly obviously wrong? is the work of a standard yet that may get me interviews?

any feedback you guys give would be greatly appreciated a million times over :)

darylsmout.daportfolio.com

Replies

• slipsius
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    slipsius mod
    well, you should ditch the home page, and have link straight to your character art page, or your envirornments. whatever it is you`re looking to do. I saw the home page, and the pic, and thought i would be able to scroll down to see more. took a few seconds to realize i had to click the links at the top.

Your church scene, the lighting is absolutely horrible, and honestly looks unfinished because of it. So, either ditch the whole thing, or light it better. The obelisk is cool, but needs to be displayed better. use marmoset or something.

the sci-fi tileable. It looks decent enough, but there's no clutter, and the red tint, i really dont like.
  • Gannon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Gannon interpolator
    I agree with slipsius, your banner says prop and texture artist but the first thing we see is a character which can be kinda confusing.
  • Dazz3r
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I am going to ditch the top sheet when i create my own site, im more concerned about the actual content though
  • m4dcow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    m4dcow interpolator
    woops wrong thread sorry.
  • cholden
    Options