Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Realistic Cigarette In UDK

Hi guys, this is my first time posting on polycount, this is a little game asset that I am currently working on. The base mesh is modeled in Maya, sculpted with zbrush and texture map and normal map editing are done in photoshop. The shader and final composition are done in unreal. Please feel free to critique and comment.

Thanks!

cigtest01.jpgcigtest01.jpg

cigtest01.jpg

Replies

• PogoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PogoP polycounter lvl 10
    To be honest, something like this could just be hand painted in Photoshop. It's such a tiny, miniscule asset that doesn't really warrant Zbrush and such a large texture.

Is it part of a larger environment?
  • Hayden Zammit
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hayden Zammit polycounter lvl 12
    I agree with PogoP it's so small and so many tris for something so small. Only way I can imgaine doing such detail for something like this is if it were to be used in an important in-game cinematic close-up.
  • KartoonHead
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    KartoonHead polycounter lvl 4
    Materials are very well defined; the paper looks like paper, the ash looks like ash, and the foil strip around the filter looks like foil. Tri-count seems fine to me, especially if it's intended for next-gen quality or is to get a lot of camera time (like the one the Illusive Man smokes in Mass Effect 2), although I'd personally only use a 6-sided cylinder maximum for small details like this, and if it wasn't getting much camera time at all 3 or 4 sided would do just fine. The texture is clearly too big for such a small asset but that's not a big deal, you just scale it down.

Also, you can reduce your polycount by changing the topology of planar circles (you can just remove all edges and verts from it, select the face, and hit 'triangulate'),
    Planar_Circles.jpg
  • Lazerus Reborn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message