Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Pizzapocalpyse UI

Pola
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Pola polycounter lvl 6
I am a student and have just finished a small game project with other students in my course, I am looking for feedback on the UI elements, I have composited them all into a single image, details below as well as credits to the other two artists in my team.

uieverything.png
Full Image around 2k by 2k pixels.

=========================================================================

For a group project in the game development course I study, we had a team of 4 programmers and 3 artists, we had 2 weeks pre production and 4 weeks of production. Given a game idea we had to refine it and produce a game within the given 6 weeks.

I have learnt from this that I need to start UI work alot earlier, I did this in the last 2 weeks, in saying that I need to also become a whole lot faster

UI is something like 127 images for use in a game engine developed by the programming students at my course. Many many layers/smartobjects with stacks of layer styles

3D Renders apart from the shield were done by another artist in my team and the characters and game logo were done by the third artist. Main menu used an image of a blank pizza box found through google image search and then heavily altered with game logo and blood brushes.

Replies

• imyj
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    imyj polycounter lvl 8
    Hey Pola,

I think you've done a good job to outline every asset which needed to be produced however the design itself lacks identity. The User Interface is the first thing a player will see upon buying/playing a game. As such, (generally speaking) it's pretty important to get as much of the styling of the game as you can into the actual design of the UI. Your UI stuff feels quite generic whereas the game looks more interesting than that. There's more to UI than glossy buttons, strokes, and outer glows :)