Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Ray Frenden

Ray
Hi, all.

I'm a freelance illustrator (purely 2D) trying my hand at 3D with the eventual intent to make indie games of my own or to land a gig making games professionally. I'm definitely open to critiques and am a total greenhorn.

---

I made tall and skinny and short and squat cartoonishly proportioned zsphere armatures last week and started my first Zbrush sculpt after.

armature01.png
armature02.png

I'm following the (very easy to follow) Scott Spencer intro to Zbrush 4 videos from Gnomon.

I've only ever made one low-poly model in Blender (yikes!) before now, but immediately clicked with Zbrush. I'm hitting a wall with some of my anatomy knowledge, but sourcing reference as I go. I think sculpting is going to shine a spotlight on exactly where I need to learn which is great for my eventual 2D work too.

I'm loving 3D. It feels like cheating after years of having to describe form with line and mass to just slap it together and place the forms where they go. I think I'm hooked.

I'll update this thread with my progress. Thanks in advance for whatever help you can offer. I'm a total noob!

Replies

• Ray
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ray
    firstZbrushModel003.png
    firstZbrushModel004.png
    firstzbrushmodel005.png

At this point, I had sculpted myself into a topological corner and was running out of polys in the face. I thought my zsphere armature would've mitigated poly distribution problems a bit, but I was at subdivision level 8 to get any detail in the face and had a model whose lower levels looked like this:

firstzbrushmodel007.png
    firstzbrushmodel008.png

Without being able to go much further, I took the advice of someone on the boards and turned my sculpt into a dynamesh. I miss being able to jump to lower subdivision levels to correct the broader strokes of my form, but I continued on. At least I could edit the face!

firstzbrushmodel12.png
    firstzbrushmodel015.png